Sales to non-resident foreigners

List of municipalities authorised to sell property to a foreigner

Avenches - Bex (from 700 m. altitude) – Bullet – Aigle - Château d’Oex – Chexbres - Corbeyrier – Gryon – L’Abbaye - Lausanne (only flats in aparthotel) – Le Chenit – Le Lieu – Leysin– Ollon (Ecovets, Chesières, Villars, Arveyres) – Ormont-Dessous – Ormont-Dessus – Puidoux (some plots) - Rossinière – Rougemont - Sainte-Croix – Saint-Cergue – Chardonne (2 flats per building) - La Tour-de-Peilz – Montreux – Veytaux – Villeneuve – Yverdon–les-Bains.

In all other municipalities, sales to foreigners are not permitted.

Living area

The net habitable floor area of second homes for holiday accommodation must not, as a rule, exceed 200 m2. For a detached villa: 1,000 m2 of land and 200 m2 of living space.

Federal law on the acquisition

Obligation to use the property for the purpose for which it was acquired and to obtain the consent of the Land Commission for any change of use.

Obligation to dispose of the buildings within 2 years if they are no longer used by the purchaser.

Prohibition on year-round rental.

Prohibition on resale for a period of 5 years from the date of registration in the Land Register.

Possibility of renting

Possibility of renting the property for a maximum of 9 to 10 months per year.

Purchase costs

Approx. 5% of the sale price (Transfer + Notary + Land Registry).

Annual taxes

The annual taxes consist of municipal, cantonal and federal taxes. They represent approximately 1.3% of the purchase price of the property.

Condominium fees: approx. 100 to 150 per room (caretaker, insurance, heating, renovation fund, etc.).


Possibility of obtaining a loan from a local bank for about 50-60% of the purchase price.

Tax on property gains

A sliding scale is introduced, depending on the length of ownership of the building. For example, if the owner has owned the property for less than one year, the maximum rate is 30%; if the ownership period is more than 24 years, the rate is 7%, which is the minimum.

Errors, omissions and changes in legislation excepted.